Waukesha Restaurant News & Notes

Redstone has closed.  I never did make it in there.  We tried going once and there was a 45 minute wait, which would lead you to believe that the restaurant was doing well.  I guess not.  They are kind of off the beaten path so I think its more of a challenge to get people in there (though the Rochester Deli manages to do well).  I don’t know what will go in there next but a small upscale sports bar (like Fanatics in Milwaukee) would be kind of a cool thing to have downtown. 

The short-lived Lumber Inn 2, which was in the former Hardees/Lucky’s space on Sunset Drive, has closed and been replaced with a new restaurant called “The Spot.”  Sounds like someplace the Saved By The Bell gang would have hung out at.  Local blogger and EatWaukesha contributor, Mitch Jurisch, tried their Muffaletta Panini and raves about it. He said he’ll be reviewing the place for EatWaukesha soon.   I can’t wait to get over there and try one for myself.

With the smoking ban in place I am kind of excited to visit some places that I have avoided because of the smoke.  Number one on the list is Fuzzy’s on Main.  The smoke was never so bad for breakfast but if you wanted one of their awesome burgers for lunch of dinner you practically needed an oxygen mask.  Showering after eating at Fuzzy’s will no longer be required either.   I enjoyed an ice cold High Life over at the Golden Gate Chinese restaurant bar while waiting for take-out last week. This is another place that used to get really smokey.  For those who have never been in the bar at Golden Gate, you should check it out.  Golden Gate used to be a Supper Club and while the menu has changed to Chinese, the bar still feels like one you’d find at a Supper Club.  Its filled with regulars from the surrounding neighborhood who are watching sports, chatting, and enjoying cocktails, beer, or one of their signature Tropical Drinks.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Waukesha Restaurants

5 responses to “Waukesha Restaurant News & Notes

  1. Fuzzy’s has burgers for breakfast, too!

  2. By the way, don’t tell anyone about Golden Gate. Then everyone will want to go there.

  3. Golden Gate seems like a love it or hate it place…I love the food but I know others who don’t like it at all.

  4. koolfool

    I went to Golden Gate thinking they have award winning Chinese food, I asked for a Chinese menu ( Most authentic place will have two menus, one Chinese, one American-Chinese), and the waitress was all puzzled ” you are holding one!”

    I can appreciate the old school Chinese-American feel and the menu, but likely I will go somewhere else for real Chinese food.

  5. Golden Gate is nowhere near the best Chinese in the area but it tastes good, is 3 blocks from my house, and I love the characters hanging at the bar.

    I think my 2 favorite places are Fortune in Hales Corners and Poeny on Bluemound.

Leave a Reply

